4th of July Dessert

I have to admit that the 4th of July is my MOST favourite holiday..well tied with Thanksgiving. It’s just that time of year when harvest would start and I would be excited about the impeding long hours on a tractor. In some ways it was the ‘last supper’ before harvest.

I love cool whip..I love Graham crackers..my body doesn’t like them any more. So I ventured out to make the awesome 4th of July pan dessert that brings back such fabulous memories.

4th July Flag Dessert
~16 small serves

Crust:
1 c. whole almonds
1.5 c. unsweetened coconut
.5 c. rolled oats (gf kind)
.25 c. of butter, coconut oil or vegan spread..melted
1.5 TB stevia (if you want it sweet)

Whipped Topping
2 large cans of coconut creme
1 tsp chia seeds
1 tsp stevia

Before you make it:

For the whipped topping:
Place cans of creme in fridge overnight.

Day of:

Crust:

In a food processor add almonds, coconut and rolled oats. Blend at high for about 5 minutes. Keep pushing the contents down so it’s evenly blended.
Add in stevia, blend
Add in melted butter
I used a 7×10 pan, a slice pan in Australia, but it would work in a smaller 9×9 pan, but nothing bigger.
I lined the pan with baking/wax paper.
Press evenly into the pan and put in fridge for about 30 minutes.

Whipped Topping:
Take the chilled cans out of the fridge and don’t shake them.
Scoop out the first half of the can, the thick milky part, and place in a food processor. You’ll notice that you see a less dense clearer section of the can…that’s the coconut water…don’t use that.
Add in chia seeds and stevia.
Whip!
If you want to add more sugar and/or vanilla…go for it!

Place the whipped topping over the crust, let set for about 30 minutes in the fridge.

Top with fresh or frozen fruit.

I used frozen because it’s the dead of winter and you can’t get those fruits here right now.

The photo is 1/4 of the overall batch…but let me tell ya, it’s fabulous. When I tried the whipped ‘cream’ I almost cried. It’s fabulous.

Enjoy,
Mish

One thought on “4th of July Dessert

  1. Pingback: Chocolate & Pear Cake…and best frosting… « Mish's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

