Cinnamon-Orange Bars

I grew up eating the Pillsbury Orange Cinnamon Roll things..and I loved them. I loved the sweet, the orange..the everything about them. They totally remind me of my childhood, my dad making breakfast on Sunday mornings.

I have actually forgotten about them until I was drinking some orange-cinnamon herbal tea. Which triggered an onslaught of ideas about combining cinnamon and orange together..because why not?

So here’s a much healthier version with the same flavours as my childhood favourite!

Cinnamon-Orange Bars
~15 squares

1.33 c. whole almonds
.66 c. coconut
.5 TB cinnamon
2 TB orange zest
1 tsp. ginger
1 tsp. baking powder
.33 c. stevia or sugar
.5 tsp. salt
2 eggs
.5 c. freshly squeeze orange juice

In a food processor, combine almonds and coconut. Process for about 2 minutes on high.
Add in orange zest, cinnamon and ginger. Process on high for about 2 minutes.
Add in stevia and salt. process again.
Add in eggs and orange juice.
Line a 7×10 pan with waxed paper and evenly distribute the batter into it.
Bake at 180/350 for about 20-25 minutes.
Cool, and enjoy.

If you wanted to sugar it up, I’d add a thin layer of a butter frosting with hints of orange zest or orange juice in it.

Honestly, I don’t think it needs it…at least my co-workers devoured it, so did my man.

~Mish xo

Leave a Reply

