Dark Chocolate Berry Topped Cupcakes

I grew up with Betty Crocker box cake mixes. To be honest, cake mixes are often times easier to do and sometimes cheaper to grab from the shelf when you’re in a pinch…but they’re loaded with crap.

That’s why I’m forcing myself to either but stuff that isn’t loaded with crap..or just make it from scratch. I had my final photography class..and I like to bring food to celebrate..who wouldn’t? I was in a bind and found this great box cake…gf, dairy free, nasty hydrogenated oil free 🙂

Then my mind wandered into the world of dark chocolate and berries…

Dark Chocolate Berry Topped Cupcakes
~12 serves

1 box of gf/dairy free cupcake/cake mix

100gm/3 oz of quality dark chocolate **be careful it doesn’t have milk in it.
1.5 c. of frozen mixed berries
1 tsp. chia seeds
1 tsp. vegan spread or butter
1 c. powdered sugar

Make the cupcakes according to packet.
In a small saucepan melt vegan spread/butter and chocolate over a medium heat.
Add in frozen berries and chia seeds.
Bring to a high simmer..constantly stir for about 5 minutes. Be careful not to burn the chocolate.
Remove and place in fridge for about 30 minutes to cool.
Let cupcakes cool and top with cool icing.

I took these to my class and people ate two..and raved.

It’s a very glamorous cupcakes with sneaky omega 3s and stuff the is easy on tummies.

~Mish

Leave a Reply

