Cherry Ripe Bars

I’ve lived in Australia for six years. I think that part of anyone’s adventure into a new country/culture is to discover their food…that being what types of candy is on offer. One of the first candy bars that I fell in love with in Oz, is what they call a Cherry Ripe.

It’s basically like a Mounds bar with cherries in it. Heaven. Chocolate. Cherries. Coconut..ohmy! Anyways, I used the recipe from the Chocolate Cake I made earlier this week, as well as the frosting, twisted it around a little bit..and made something that is healthier and impressive! I took these to work and I had people coming up to me and saying “those are amazing!”. They ate them all, I can’t even find the plate…they must have been good.

Cherry Ripe Bars
~18-24 serves

Base
Half of the cake base recipe, but with 2 eggs

Centre
1 c. cherry frosting
1.5 c. fine coconut, unsweetened
1 c. cherries, pitted and quartered

Topping
250gm/8oz dark chocolate (dairy free)

Preheat oven 180/350, and follow directions of the cake, using exactly half of the ingredients, but add two eggs.
Spread evenly into a 7×10 pan, lined with wax/baking paper and bake for 10-15 minutes. Until firm in the middle when touched.
Let cool.

In a medium bowl add frosting. If it’s been in the fridge, allow it to come to room temperature.
Add in coconut, mix.
Add in quartered cherries, mix gently until incorporated.

When the cake is cool, evenly spread the coconut mixture across the top of the cake and place in fridge for 1 hour.

Melt dark chocolate over low heat in a small saucepan. Stir constantly.
Once chocolate is just melted, no need to boil, let stand for 3-5 minutes to cool down.
Evenly spread over the top and place bar into the fridge to set for about 1 hour.

When wanting to cut either wet a knife with hot water or let stand for 1 hour at room temperature.

They aren’t overly sweet, and the textures are nice.

I knew that they were good, when I found crumbs of them on the floor after a sneaky snack, I knew I wasn’t the only one who agreed!

They’re beautiful, good, and tasty.

~Mish

Leave a Reply

